Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 3,080 Ratings

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

  • Wow!

    5
    By nanasfj40
    It’s 3:58 am. I started this when I went to bed and couldn’t put it down until I finished it.
  • Great book but a quick ending

    4
    By Misskutcha
    This was a great book. I read it in two days, couldn’t put it down but I feel like the ending wrapped up rather quickly.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By 11/22/63
    Outstanding
  • Wonderful!

    5
    By 625Salem
    A beautifully written book! I hope this author writes more!
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    4
    By WargregVT
    If you love books that exquisitely describe the natural world around us, this is your book. If you love a good murder mystery, this is your book. If you need to feel hooked early in a novel to keep going, you may want to avoid it but beware. I almost gave up on it after 50 pages because it took me some time to become absorbed in the foreign world and language she uses, but I’m glad I stuck with it.
  • Classic

    5
    By Whiskey1966
    This book is the best book I’ve read in years. I never wanted it to end. A must read.
  • Remarkable and haunting

    5
    By Sherri Rose
    You must read this novel! I could not put it down and read it through until 4 am one morning. These characters are brought to life and they will stay with you and haunt you long after you close the book. The canvas she paints of nature that surrounds these characters is breathtaking and comes to life as you read. She is a true artist and exquisite storyteller. Stunning.
  • Masterful

    5
    By abbijones
    Could not put this book down. I cried, laughed and gasped throughout the book. Must read!
  • Where the crawdads sing

    5
    By Big Dog Ken
    What a great book. Excellent story telling. She develops the background and sets the scene so you become enveloped during your,read. I love how the book goes from start to finish and doesn’t leave you hanging. Nice surprise at the end with the necklace. Definitely looking for more from Ms Owens.
  • Beginning was captivating, end fell short

    3
    By autuuummn
    I felt the writing deteriorated as the story progressed. Did not particularly enjoy the themes of sexual assault. As a coastal NC resident I didn’t find all the setting as accurate as I’d liked either. Overall, an okay read.